Sunday, 20 April 2014

NAI Members

Conel Alexander
E-mail: calexander@ciw.edu

 

John Baross
Professor, School of Oceanography, University of Washington
E-mail: baross@u.washington.edu
Phone: 206-543-0833

 

Nabil Boctor
Emeritus Research Scientist, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: nboctor@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-8949
Website

Nabil Boctor researches phase equilibria, kinetics of mineral reactions, element partitioning between minerals and melts, and igneous and ore petrology. Boctor did his Ph.D. research with former Geophysical laboratory staff Gunnar Kullerud in the area of sulfide phase equilibria.

 

Alan Boss
E-mail: aboss@ciw.edu

 

Dina Bower
Visiting Investigator, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: dbower@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-8992
Website

Dina Bower’s research is centered on finding and establishing reliable biosignatures in ancient rocks on Earth and other planets. She attempts to understand the role of microbes in the diagenesis of Fe-Ti-oxides by undertaking experiments that simulate diagenetic conditions. Currently, she is studying ~1.9 Ga Gunflint chert samples collected from four different sites of the Gunflint Formation.

 

Paul Butler
E-mail: paul@dtm.ciw.edu

 

John Chambers
E-mail: jchambers@ciw.edu

 

Henderson James (Jim) Cleaves
Visiting Investigator, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: hjcleaves@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-8957
Website

Henderson (Jim) Cleaves' research in organic geochemistry is concerned principally with abiological organic synthesis, the question of how life arose on Earth, and methods for detecting Life on other planets. Presently he is involved in a project with Robert Hazen regarding the interactions of organic compounds with mineral surfaces.

 

George D. Cody
Acting Director, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: gcody@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-8980
Website

George D. Cody specializes in chemical-structural analyses of solid phase organics. His research is focused on determining the diagenetic reactions that define organic sediment maturation. Other interests include examining the molecular structure of extraterrestrial organic solids contained within carbonaceous chondritic meteorites and more recently, comets. He received a Ph.D in geosciences from Pennsylvania State University in 1992, and a BSc in geology from University of Massachusetts at Amherst in 1982.

 

Pascale Ehrenfreund
E-mail: pascale@strw.leidenuniv.nl
Phone: +31 71 5274541

 

Jennifer Eigenbrode
Visiting Scientist, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: jennifer.l.eigenbrode@nasa.gov
Phone: (301) 614-5967
Website

Jennifer Eigenbrode is a biogeochemist and geologist with expertise in organic and isotope geochemistry and interests in astrobiology. She specializes in the use of gas chromatography-mass spectrometry (GCMS) in the analysis of lipids and other hydrocarbons in rocks, ice, and biological samples.

 

James Farquhar
Associate Professor, Department of Geology, University of Maryland
E-mail: jfarquha@essic.umd.edu
Phone: 301-405-1116

 

Marilyn L. Fogel
Adjunct Staff Scientist, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: mfogel@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-8981
Website

Marilyn L. Fogel's research revolves around the stable isotopic biogeochemistry of modern and fossil ecosystems. She uses stable isotopes to trace biochemical and geochemical processes. She received a Ph.D in botany from the University of Texas at Austin, Marine Science Institute in 1977 and a BSc in biology from the Pennsylvania State University in 1973. Marilyn is now a Professor at the University of California Merced for the School of Natural Sciences. At UC Merced, Marilyn will provide leadership and support to current faculty research in biogeochemical cycling and ecological studies of past and future environments in the context of changing climate. She plans to establish a stable isotope laboratory capable of supporting research in ecology/paleoecology, biogeochemistry, and environmental sciences, which will serve as an integrator for interdisciplinary studies related to climate change, biodiversity, and sustainability sciences.

 

Mihaela Glamoclija
Visiting Investigator, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: mglamoclija@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-7970
Website

Mihaela Glamoclija's research relates to general area of microbe-mineral interaction, utilization, and development of methods and concepts that may aid in the search, detection, and assessment of fossilized microbial life on Earth as a guide to the search for ancient life on Mars.

 

Alexander Goncharov
Senior Staff Scientist, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: agoncharov@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-8947
Website

Alexander F. Goncharov's research concentrates on analyzing materials under extreme conditions such as high pressure and temperature using optical spectroscopy and other techniques. He received a Ph.D in physics from the Russian Academy of Sciences, Institute of Spectroscopy in 1983, and a combined MA and MSc in physics from the Moscow Institute for Physics and Technology in 1979.

 

Erik Hauri
E-mail: ehauri@ciw.edu

 

Robert M. Hazen
Senior Staff Scientist, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: rhazen@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-8962
Website

Robert M. Hazen's research encompasses the origins of life and emergence of pre-biotic chemical complexity. Topics of particular interest include the interactions between crystalline solids and organic molecules and the co-evolution of geo- and biospheres. he obtained a Ph.D in mineralogy and crystallography from Harvard University in 1975, and a BSc and SM in earth science from Massachusetts Institute for Technology in 1970 and 1971.

 

Russell J. Hemley
Senior Staff Scientist, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: rhemley@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-8951
Website

Russell J. Hemley is a senior staff scientist of the Geophysical Laboratory. His research examines the properties of materials at high-pressures and its applications to geophysics, geochemistry and planetary science, as well as to theoretical condensed-matter physics and chemistry. He uses optical spectroscopy, x-ray diffraction, and diamond-cell techniques to conduct high-pressure experimental and theoretical studies in condensed-matter physics, earth and planetary science and materials science. He obtained a Ph.D and MA in physical chemistry from Harvard University in 1983 and 1980, and received a BA in chemistry and philosophy from Wesleyan University in 1977.

 

Garret W. Huntress
Systems Administrator/Systems Developer, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: ghuntress@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-8973
Website

Garret is responsible for building and maintaining the IT systems at the Geophysical Laboratory, which includes the network, server systems, web services, telepresence systems, and automation code for scientific instrumentation. In addition, he builds IT systems for the AMASE expedition and is currently the IT lead for the NAI grant.

 

Danielle Appleby Kifah
Assistant to the Director , Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: dappleby@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-8906
Website

Danielle is the assistant to the director at the Geophysical Laboratory. Prior to joining Carnegie in 2007, Danielle worked as Consultation Executive for one of the top planning and PR firms in London, Local Dialogue LLP, where she led the consultation on large-scale public sector projects for the Mayor of London including "Crystal Palace Park Regeneration," the "Olympics 2012," and "Ocean New Deal for Communities Redevelopment."

 

Adrienne Kish
Postdoctoral Associate, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: akish@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-8988
Website

Adrienne Kish is an astrobiologist with an interest in the microbiology and molecular biology of extremophiles exposed to the types of environmental conditions found on planetary bodies such as Mars and the icy moons of Jupiter and Saturn.

 

Penny Morrill
E-mail: pmorrill@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-8983

 

Bjørn O. Mysen
Senior Staff Scientist, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: bmysen@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-8975
Website

Bjørn O. Mysen's areas of research include experimental high-temperature and pressure analyses, investigations into the properties and processes of rock-formation and related materials with an emphasis on melting. He is also interested in examining the phase relations of mantle materials, fluids in melting processes, the properties and structure of melts and glasses, element partitioning between minerals, fluids and melts at high-pressures and temperatures. He obtained a Ph.D in geochemistry from Pennsylvania State University in 1974, and a BSc and MA from University of Oslo in 1969 and 1971.

 

Larry Nittler
E-mail: lnittler@ciw.edu

 

Dominic Papineau
Visiting Investigator, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: dpapineau@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-8908
Website

Dominic Papineau's research projects are focused on the Paleoproterozoic phosphorus and nitrogen cycles, biosignatures in banded iron formations and the step-wise rise of atmospheric oxygen. He is a geochemist interested in the early evolution of life, biogeochemical cycles and biological signatures in Precambrian sedimentary rocks.

 

Aki Roberge
E-mail: aroberge@ciw.edu

 

Douglas Rumble III
Senior Staff Scientist, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: drumble@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-8990
Website

Douglas Rumble III uses the stable isotopes of oxygen and sulfur to explore the evolution of Earth's atmosphere by analyzing ancient rocks and to understand the origin of the Solar System through study of meteorites. He obtained a Ph.D in geological sciences from Harvard University in 1969, and a BA in geology from Columbia University in 1964.

 

Matt Schrenk
Postdoctoral Fellow, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: mschrenk@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-1079

 

Scott Sheppard
E-mail: ssheppard@ciw.edu

 

Steve Shirey
E-mail: sshirey@ciw.edu

 

Sean Solomon
E-mail: ssolomon@ciw.edu

 

Don Sparks
Chairperson, Department of Plant and Soil Sciences, University of Deleware
E-mail: dlsparks@udel.edu
Phone: (302) 831-2532

 

Andrew Steele
Senior Staff Scientist, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: asteele@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-8974
Website

Andrew Steele uses traditional and biotechnological approaches for the detection of microbial life in astrobiology and solar system exploration. He received a Ph.D in biotechnology from the University of Portsmouth, U.K. in 1996, and a BSc in microbiology and biochemistry from the University of Central Lancashire, U.K. in 1992.

 

Rhonda Stroud
Head, Nanoscale Materials Section, US Naval Research Laboratory
E-mail: stroud@nrl.navy.mil

 

Dimitri Sverjensky
Senior Visiting Investigator, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
E-mail: dsverjensky@ciw.edu
Phone: 202-478-7975
Website

Dimitri Sverjensky is a Professor of Geochemistry in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences at the Johns Hopkins University. Professor Sverjensky received his B. Sc. degree with First Class Honors from the University of Sydney (Australia) in 1973 and a Ph.D. from Yale University in 1980. He has worked in the fields of economic geology, isotope geochemistry and theoretical aqueous solution chemistry. In recent years, his research has focused on integrating theoretical and experimental studies of the geochemistry of the mineral-water interface, mainly with applications to environmental geochemistry and to the role of surface chemistry in the origin of life. He has been a Visiting Investigator since 2005.

 

Alycia Weinberger
E-mail: aweinberger@ciw.edu